Inaugural ceremony honors Black theater artists


A new celebration honoring Black theater artists and contributors on Broadway and Off-Broadway will make its debut on Friday, June 19.

It’s the day that Broadway Black, a multimedia organization which highlights Black theater artists’ achievements, will premiere the Antonyo Awards at 7 p.m. EST on June 19.  You can watch the ceremony, featuring stars such as six-time Tony Award-winner Audra McDonald, on and

Broadway Black announced the nominees on June 9. Meanwhile, the public voted on their favorites from June 9-12. In other words, the public determined the winners. More than 8,000 people cast a ballot, according to Broadway Black’s Facebook page.

“The time is now! Let’s celebrate Black Joy!,” Broadway Black wrote on Twitter.

The streamed ceremony will include a pre-show virtual red carpet, original musical numbers, as well as star presenters and performers. In addition, the program will feature four special “kinfolk awards.” Specifically, they are the Lorraine Hansberry Award, the Langston Hughes Award, the Welcome Award, and The Doors of the Theatre are Open Award. Also, a Lifetime Achievement Award will honor an artist.

Broadway Black Founder Drew Shade told Playbill, “The Antonyos honor contributors to Black theater, from actors to stage and company managers, administrators, and designers. Everyone in our community deserves to be acknowledged in what we hope will be a funny, authentic, celebratory event that is for us, by us.”

Below is a complete list of nominations for The Antonyo Awards. Broadway actors Kristolyn Lloyd (Dear Evan Hansen) and Bryan Terrell Clark (Hamilton) will co-host.

Best Play
one in two by Donja R. Love
Toni Stone by Lydia R. Diamond
All The Natalie Portmans by C.A. Johnson
STEW by Zora Howard
BLKS by Aziza Barnes
Paris by Eboni Booth

Best Musical
The Secret Life of Bees
A Strange Loop
Tina: The Tina Turner Musical
The Wrong Man
Girl From North Country
Jagged Little Pill

Best Revival
For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
West Side Story
Native Son
Little Shop of Horrors
Fires in the Mirror
Two Can Play

Best Actor in a Play Off-Broadway
Kara Young, All The Natalie Portmans
Portia, STEW
April Mathis, Toni Stone
Kristolyn Lloyd, Little Women
Ato Blankson Wood, The Rolling Stone
Danielle Brooks, Much Ado About Nothing

Best Actor in a Play on Broadway
Audra McDonald, Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune
LaChanze, A Christmas Carol
Joaquina Kalukango, Slave Play
Blair Underwood, A Soldier’s Play

Best Actor in a Musical Off-Broadway
Ciara Renée, The Wrong Man
Larry Owens, A Strange Loop
Janelle McDermoth, We’re Gonna Die
Danyel Fulton, Broadbend, Arkansas
Joshua Henry, The Wrong Man
LaChanze, The Secret Life of Bees

Best Actor in a Musical on Broadway
Kimber Elayne Sprawl, Girl From the North Country
Adrienne Warren, Tina: The Tina Turner Musical
Isaac Cole Powell, West Side Story
Daniel J. Watts, Tina: The Tina Turner Musical
Shereen Pimentel, West Side Story

Best Featured Actor in a Play Off-Broadway
Leland Fowler, One in Two
Nicco Annan, The Hot Wing King
Crystal Lucas-Perry, A Bright Room Called Day
John-Andrew Morrison, Blues for an Alabama Sky
LaToya Edwards, The Rolling Stone
Okwui Okpokwasili, For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/ when the rainbow is enuf

Best Featured Actor in a Play on Broadway
David Alan Grier, A Soldier’s Play
Ato Blankson-Wood, Slave Play
Chalia La Tour, Slave Play
Zawe Ashton, Betrayal
Grantham Coleman, The Great Society
Jordan Barbour, The Inheritance

Best Featured Actor in a Musical Off-Broadway
John-Andrew Morrison, A Strange Loop
Starr Busby, Octet
Jasmine Cephas Jones, Cyrano
Saycon Sengbloh, The Secret Life of Bees
L Morgan Lee, A Strange Loop
Taylor Iman Jones, Scotland, PA

Best Featured Actor in a Musical Broadway
Sahr Ngaujah, Moulin Rouge!
Celia Rose Gooding, Jagged Little Pill
Jeanette Bayardelle, Girl From the North Country
Dharon E. Jones, West Side Story

Best Solo Performance
Donnetta Lavinia Grays, Where We Stand
Michael Benjamin Washington, Fires in the Mirror
Dierdra McDowell, Down to Eartha

Best Director
Stevie Walker-Webb, One In Two
Robert O’Hara, BLKS
Whitney White, Our Dear Dead Drug Lord
Colette Robert, STEW
Raja Feather Kelly, We’re Gonna Die
Lileana Blain-Cruz, Anatomy of A Suicide

Best Choreography
Raja Feather Kelly, A Strange Loop
Camille A. Brown, for For Colored Girls Who Have Committed Suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Edisa Weeks, Novenas For a Lost Hospital
Adesola Osakalumi, Coal Country
Byron Easley, Slave Play
nicHi Douglas, Skinfolk: An American Show

Best Quarantine Content
Daniel J. Watts, The Jam IG Live
Edward Mawere, #BroadwayRemixChallenge
Drew Shade, Inside The Mind, a Mental Wellness Series
Jordan E. Cooper, Mama Got A Cough
Sis, Living with Sis IG Series
Camille A. Brown, Social Dance for Social Distance

Best Lighting Design
Allen Lee Hughes, Toni Stone
Alan C. Edwards, The Hot Wing King
Stacey Derosier, Novenas For A Lost Hospital
Allen Lee Hughes, A Soldiers Play

Best Scenic Design
Lawrence E. Moten III, Native Son

Best Sound
Justin Ellington, One in Two
Rucyl Frison, Anatomy of a Suicide
Luqman Brown, The Hot Wing King

Best Costumes
Toni-Leslie James, For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Dede Ayite, BLKS
Andy Jean, One in Two
Karen Perry, runboyrun/ In Old Age
Sarita P Fellows, Native Son
Ari Fulton, Novenas for a Lost Hospital

Best Hair & Wig Design
Cookie Jordan, Toni Stone
Nikiya Mathis, STEW
Greg Cooper Spencer, A Soldier’s Play
Nikiya Mathis, For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Cookie Jordan, A Strange Loop

Best Orchestrations
The Secret of Life Bees
A Strange Loop
Tina: The Tina Turner Musical
We’re Gonna Die
The Wrong Man
Skinfolk: An American Show

Best Original Score
The Secret of Life Bees
A Strange Loop
Broadbend, Arkansas
We’re Gonna Die
The Wrong Man

Best Book
Michael R. Jackson, A Strange Loop
Lynn Nottage, The Secret Life of Bees
Katori Hall, Tina: A Tina Turner Musical
Harrison David Rivers, Broadbend, Arkansas


About author

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *